glass beach // calling all sea glass lovers

Glass-Beach-Fort-Bragg-California-5

If you are an avid beach comber and sea glass collector like me, you HAVE to check out Glass Beach near Fort Bragg in Northern California. I learned about it from a friend and have yet to make the trip up there, but I sense it will happen in the very near future! I just finished my first “official” sea glass bezel ring and I could not be happier with how it turned out! I have definitely found what I want to do with my life. Using sea glass for jewelry helps the environment because the beautiful sea glass you find was technically created from someone polluting the beach. Fortunately more and more people are becoming less ignorant about polluting, but that also means the amount of sea glass is becoming less plentiful…therefore the value of it is very likely to continue increasing.

The photo below is my finished sea glass ring. Stay tuned for many, many more designs that will be available to purchase! Part of the proceeds of each will go to The Sato Project. The Sato Project (aka The Dead Dog Beach Project) was started by a very dedicated group of people who are devoted to rescuing abandoned and abused animals from Puerto Rico. My love of collecting sea glass and creating jewelry first started when I lived in Puerto Rico. Having adopted a Sato (Puerto Rican slang for mut), I feel very inclined to help out this wonderful cause!

64126_397160253715479_1192434746_n

So many more designs are currently in the making!

2da756b0aba311e2b53822000a1f96e6_7

One thought on “glass beach // calling all sea glass lovers

  1. Pingback: Glass Beach – The Dump You’ll Want to Visit | The Middle Pane

Leave a Reply

